< Back

Announcing The 2021 National Achievement Award Student Winners

Categories: Blind or Visually Impaired, College Knowledge, Disability Type, General, In the News, Learning Disabilities, Learning Disability, National Achievement Awards

Learning Ally's 2021 National Achievement Award (NAA) student award recipients have been selected for The Marion Huber Learning Through Listening Award and the Mary P. Oenslager Scholastic Achievement Award.

For over 60 years, our organization has offered the two endowed scholarship awards to students in high school and college with print and learning disabilities. These outstanding learners have overcome great obstacles to achieve extraordinary goals in school and beyond. As an organization, we can take pride in this beneficial program that acknowledges underserved students who rise above all expectations.

About the NAA Student Awards

The Marion Huber Learning Through Listening Award (LTL) is granted to student members who are high school seniors with learning disabilities in recognition of their academic achievement, leadership, and service to others.  

The Mary P. Oenslager Scholastic Achievement Award (SAA) is given to college students who are blind or visually impaired, who are also high achievers and stellar individuals. 

This year's award recipients are exemplary role models and an inspiration to all students who are challenged in ways many of us can never imagine.  The top three winners from each category (LTL and SAA) receive a $6000 scholarship award. Students who receive special honors receive between $2,000 and $3000 monetary awards.  

Please join us in congratulating all winners and participants! You can learn more about each of our students by clicking on their names. These individuals can be immensely proud of their outstanding academic prowess and personal achievements. They are stellar role models for students who learn differently and who demonstrate the highest standards of performance and commitment in their classes and communities.

Winners of the LTL Awards

Samantha Widdison, Winner - Belmont, MA

Carragon Olles, Winner - DePere, WI

Pauline Simonson, Winner - Salt Lake City, Utah

Nicholas Talik, Special Honors - Houston, TX

John Andrew, Special Honors - Gloucester, MA

Benjamin Payson, Special Honors - Cape Elizabeth, ME


Winners of the SAA Awards

Katherine Barba, Winner - New Rochelle, NY

Qusay Hussein, Winner - Austin, TX

Jonathan Zobek, Winner - Kenilworth, NJ

Yolanda Keahey, Special Honors - Jersey City, NJ

Debra Whitt, Special Honors - Springfield, MO

Jennifer Ratliff, Special Honors - Oklahoma City, OK 

You can learn more about our application process and our award programs at LearningAlly.org/NAA and view the video submissions of our 2021 winners.