Image for Tales and sketches

Tales and sketches

Library of America

by Hawthorne Nathaniel


This volume offers what no reader has ever been able to find-an authoritative edition of all the tales and sketches of Nathaniel Hawthorne (1804-64) in a single comprehensive volume. Everything is included from his three books of stories, Twice-told Tales (1837, 1851), Mosses from an Old Manse (1846, 1854), The Snow-Image, and Other Twice-told Tales (1851), from his two books of stories for children based on classical myths, A Wonder Book for Girls and Boys (1852), and Tanglewood Tales (1853), and sixteen stories not found in any of these volumes. The stories are arranged, as they never have been in any other edition, in the order of their periodical publication. Readers of Hawthorne will thereby get a unique sense of how he became one of the most powerful and experimental writers of American fiction.

Available format(s):

Classic Audio

Log in to read

What's an Audio Format

Book Information

Copyright year 1982
ISBN-13 9780940450035
ISBN-10 0940450038
Class Copyright
Publisher Literary Classics of the United States : Distributed by Viking Press
File Size 0 MB
Number of Pages 1493
Shelf No. CE564
Grade Range 12
Ages 18