Image for Dinosaur Lady : The Daring Discoveries Of Mary Anning, The First Paleontologist
Good Read

Dinosaur Lady : The Daring Discoveries Of Mary Anning, The First Paleontologist

by Linda Skeers

Synopsis

A beautifully illustrated picture book biography of Mary Anning that will enlighten children about the discovery of the dinosaurs and the importance of female scientists, perfect for fans of The Girl Who Thought in Pictures Mary Anning loved scouring the beach near her home in England for shells and fossils. She fearlessly climbed over crumbling cliffs and rocky peaks, searching for new specimens. One day, something caught Mary's eye. Bones. Dinosaur Bones. Mary's discoveries rocked the world of science and helped create a brand-new field of study: paleontology. But many people believed women couldn't be scientists, so Mary wasn't given the credit she deserved. Nevertheless, Mary kept looking and learning more, making discoveries that reshaped scientific beliefs about the natural world. Educational backmatter includes a timeline of Mary Anning's life and lots of fantastic fossil facts! The perfect choice for parents and teachers looking for:Dinosaur books for kids 5-7 and kids books about fossilsFeminist picture books about historical women, and daring books for girlsKids STEM books

Available format(s):

VOICEText (H)

Add to Bookshelf

What's an Audio Format

Book Information

Copyright year 2020
ISBN-13 9781728209517
ISBN-10 172820951X
Class Copyright
Publisher Sourcebooks, Incorporated
Subject Science
File Size 34 MB
Number of Pages 40
Language ENG
Shelf No. NF039
Grade Range 0-3
Ages 4-8