Image for The Silence Between Us
Good Read

The Silence Between Us

by Alison Gervais

Synopsis

"The Silence Between Us is eminently un-put-down-able." (NPR) Schneider Family Book Award, Best Teen Honor Book 2020 "This is a great YA contemporary (clean) romance that follows Maya as she navigates a new school and plans for her future. The addition of representation by a Deaf character was really beautifully done. Highly recommend for people looking for a sweet, engaging, and educational romantic read." (YA and Kids Book Central) #OwnVoices YA novel features Deaf / Hard of Hearing Community "It's time we see more Deaf characters in books. It's time we see more books celebrating sign language and Deaf culture," said author Alison Gervais. Deaf teen Maya moves across the country and must attend a hearing school for the first time. As if that wasn't hard enough, she also has to adjust to the hearing culture, which she finds frustrating--and also surprising when some classmates, including Beau Watson, take time to learn ASL. As Maya looks past graduation and focuses on her future dreams, nothing, not even an unexpected romance, will not derail her pursuits. But when people in her life--Deaf and hearing alike--ask her to question parts of her Deaf identity, Maya stands proudly, never giving in to the idea that her Deafness is a disadvantage. The Silence Between Us: Features a Deaf protagonist and an #OwnVoices perspective on Deaf and Hard of Hearing culture Is a clean YA romance by Wattpad sensation Alison Gervais Is perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and CeCe Bell

Available format(s):

VOICEText (H)

Add to Bookshelf

What's an Audio Format

Book Information

Copyright year 2019
ISBN-13 9780310766162
ISBN-10 0310766168
Class Copyright
Publisher Blink
Subject Juvenile Fiction
File Size 101 MB
Number of Pages 320
Length of Recording 7
Language ENG
Shelf No. ND618
Grade Range 7-
Ages 13-