Image for Almost American Girl : An Illustrated Memoir
Good Read

Almost American Girl : An Illustrated Memoir

by Robin Ha

Synopsis

A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life--perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo . For as long as she can remember, it's been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn't always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together. So when a vacation to visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes a permanent relocation--following her mother's announcement that she's getting married--Robin is devastated. Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped into a new school where she doesn't understand the language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut off from her friends in Seoul and has no access to her beloved comics. At home, she doesn't fit in with her new stepfamily, and worst of all, she is furious with the one person she is closest to--her mother. Then one day Robin's mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined.

Add to Bookshelf

What's an Audio Format

Book Information

Copyright year 2020
ISBN-13 9780062685094
ISBN-10 0062685090
Class Copyright
Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
Subject
File Size 183 MB
Number of Pages 240
Length of Recording 13
Language ENG
Shelf No. NC926
Grade Range 8-
Ages 13-
Curriculums Texas Education Agency: Featured Titles Trademarks