Image for New Kid
Good Read

New Kid

by Jerry Craft

Synopsis

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft. Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade. As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds--and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

Add to Bookshelf

What's an Audio Format

Book Information

Copyright year 2019
ISBN-13 9780062691194
ISBN-10 0062691198
Class Copyright
Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
Subject Juvenile Fiction
File Size 134 MB
Number of Pages 256
Length of Recording 9
Language ENG
Shelf No. NC161
Grade Range 3-7
Ages 8-12
Lexile GN320L