Image for The Tiny Hero Of Ferny Creek Library
Good Read

The Tiny Hero Of Ferny Creek Library

by Linda Bailey

Synopsis

Eddie, a passionate reader and a shiny green bug, saves the school library in this funny, heartwarming tale that fans of Flora & Ulysses and Charlotte's Web will love. Includes black-and-white illustrations throughout from Newbery Honor Medalist and New York Times-bestselling author-artist Victoria Jamieson. Eddie is a tiny green bug who loves to read and who lives behind the chalkboard in the fourth-grade classroom with his parents, his 53 brothers and sisters, and his aunt Min. But when Aunt Min goes to the school library to read a book and never returns, Eddie leaves the comfort of his home for the first time and makes the dangerous trek through Ferny Creek Elementary School to find her. After dodging running sneakers, falling books, and terrifying spiders, Eddie reaches the library, where he discovers Aunt Min stuck in a perilous situation! To top it all off, there's a substitute librarian who aims to close the library for good and get rid of all the books! Encouraged by the brave deeds done by small creatures such as Stuart Little and Charlotte from Charlotte's Web, Eddie comes up with a plan to save the library--a plan that requires all the courage one little bug can muster. A great read-aloud and read-alone, this action-packed short novel includes references to classic children's literature throughout and is perfect for fans of Chris Grabenstein's Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library and Lynne Rae Perkins's Nuts to You. Featuring extensive black-and-white art from Newbery Honor Medalist and New York Times-bestselling author-artist Victoria Jamieson.

Available format(s):

VOICEText (H)

Log in to read

What's an Audio Format

Book Information

Copyright year 2017
ISBN-13 9780062440938
ISBN-10 0062440934
Class Copyright
Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
Subject Juvenile Fiction
File Size 0 MB
Number of Pages 336
Language ENG
Shelf No. NC819
Grade Range 3-7
Ages 8-12
Lexile 480L