Image for You Go First
Good Read

You Go First

by Erin Entrada Kelly

Synopsis

Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly's You Go First is an engaging exploration of family, bullying, spelling, art, and the ever-complicated world of middle school friendships. Her perfectly pitched tween voice will resonate with fans of Kate DiCamillo's Raymie Nightingale . Twelve-year-old Charlotte Lockard and eleven-year-old Ben Boxer are separated by more than a thousand miles. On the surface, their lives seem vastly different--Charlotte lives near Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, while Ben is in the small town of Lanester, Louisiana. Charlotte wants to be a geologist and keeps a rock collection in her room. Ben is obsessed with Harry Potter, presidential history, and recycling. But the two have more in common than they think. They're both highly gifted. They're both experiencing family turmoil. And they both sit alone at lunch. Over the course of a week, Charlotte and Ben--online friends connected only by a Scrabble game--will intersect in unexpected ways, as they struggle to navigate the turmoil of middle school. This engaging story about growing up and finding your place in the world by the Newbery Medal-winning author of Hello, Universe and the winner of the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature will appeal to fans of Rebecca Stead and Rita Williams-Garcia.

Available format(s):

VOICEText (H)

Add to Bookshelf

What's an Audio Format

Book Information

Copyright year 2018
ISBN-13 9780062414182
ISBN-10 0062414186
Class Copyright
Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
Subject Juvenile Fiction
File Size 61 MB
Number of Pages 304
Length of Recording 4
Language ENG
Shelf No. NA972
Grade Range 3-7
Ages 8-12
Lexile 640L
Curriculums Texas Education Agency: Featured Titles Trademarks